Unbiased Site5 web hosing reviews and editor comments

This Site5 review website is hosted with Site5.com

This website has been hosted with their basic shared package since 2008. For the pass 7 years we have conducted countless numbers of web hosting test, evaluation and reviews. All these are compiled into honest and unbiased rating and anyone can view all these information at no cost. We are sure this web host is honest, true and won’t rip off. And we have over 3 coupons awaits you, plus our own $5 cash rebate program for those writing us their user review and user experience.

Site5 reviews: is Site5 good or bad?

In overall, their features and specification are the best and they have few shared service plans, basic plan is designed for most beginners. Advanced user or business user can go for higher plan that better support e-commerce website; this including VPS, private server or cloud services. Here is their product range available:

  1. Shared service from $4.95 per month.
  2. Cloud hosting from $20.00 per month.
  3. Reseller hosting account from $23.95 per month.
  4. VPS hosting from $25 per month.

Homepage

Site5 reviews on shared hosting services.

All their web hosting products and services are 100% green and your website can be fully eco-friendly. Host with a peace in mind and have no worry of any side effect.

The most basic plan is called Hostbasic. This basic hosting plan allows single domain hosting. This mean you only allowed to have one website or domain in here. The add-on domain feature is now available and only available in their unlimited domain plan and turbo package that are more expensive. All three plans include 99.9% uptime guarantee and the best 45-days money-back guarantee. This is risk free signup and the web hosting service is guaranteed to be available 99.9% of the time. In addition we can choose from over 20 location world wide. Basically what all these mean is you can choose them and host in any of their 20 location. Here are the main features found in their shared hosting plan:

  1. Unlimited disk space and bandwidth transfer.
  2. Unlimited domains and websites available in pro and turbo plan.
  3. Choose from 20 location world wide.
  4. Free website migration service and website builder tools.
  5. Free control panel with siteadmin and backstage.
  6. Comes with the most excellent 99.9% uptime guarantee.
  7. 45-days money back guarantee and signup protection.

Shared hosting features

Site5 reviews on customer service.

They promised 25 websites transfer service for free, is this real? The customer service is here to assist you on the moment you signup. Once getting a new account, you are their user and can start getting their transfer service for free.

Website migration service is free. They are now offering up to 25 websites migration for their new customer. Not one but 25 of it. The support personal will migrating up to 25 cPanel accounts or 10 non cPanel accounts. If you’re having multiple sites in separate location and want to move to a new web host that done everything. For most owners that don’t have experience in migration, this site transfer service is a must have feature.

Live chat online

Overall customer support and quality is excellent. Not to forget, their hosting plan is coupled with the best after-sales and customer service and help center with online live chat. Customer support team is available always, whenever yelling for help, there is always someone going to answer. If having any sales inquiry, start a live chat with sales team, and get answer instantly. Take note their sales offices are open Monday to Friday, from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM ET (GMT -5). If website is having technical issue or server downtime, do email technical support team. They will get it fixed. Following is their contact numbers:

  1. Phone number is 1888sites.com (USA).
  2. International number is 19254783115.

Site5 reviews and average user rating since 2008.

Finally, our rating is a healthy 9 out of 10. After countless years of review and look through their criteria, we know this is a leading web host company and their product is world class. We are comparing their basic shared service with other top web hosting company including Hostgator, Siteground and Webhostingbuzz. All these are highly similar and they have single domain and unlimited domain plans available when you need an account upgrade.

What makes our reviews better and more accurate is our actual web hosting experience. We have a shared hosting account with them, using it to host websites, and experience it for so many years. Most importantly we are using all their web hosting services, and these we know their differences or advantages. They are having network and server benefits, we see the speed performance different and their customer support is highly trained and very specialized too.

Following is our detailed rating and scores given to their shared hosting services.

Rating votes

Their web hosting services might be one of the best, but their price is definitely not. We are comparing their shared hosting plans with the others, and highly recommend they revise the pricing and introduce a much lower pricing. In today market, we are seeing unlimited domain hosting at below $5 dollars per month and they are asking over $7 dollars a month. That is 30% more than others are asking.

next page

Site5 Backstage and Siteadmin Control Panel

Site5 backstage control panel is just perfect.

Site5 Backstage demoThey are not using cPanel or vDeck, they are using their own Backstage control panel that provides multiple account management and they called it siteadmin; this is where thing get started. Next, choose account to manage and proceed with configuration. In here, user can configure email, manage domain and access to web apps installer. All features and web hosting tools are accessible from here.

Site5 Backstage login.

Web hosts are making their customer login page simple and quickly accessible. The same thing goes to Site5.com and their customer login link is available at their homepage, at the top right corner.

  1. Go to official homepage at http://www.Site5.com
  2. Click on the customer login link.
  3. And you will get to https://backstage.site5.com/
  4. Enter account username and password here.
  5. Now you are in Backstage control panel, main page.
  6. Click the Siteadmin and choose your domain.
  7. Now you are in Siteadmin dashboard and here is where you can manage websites.

Why give this Site5 backstage a try?

They claim to offer more feature and advantage, for example it allows multiple user access permission which is not found in cPanel or vDeck. Account owner can view current server status in real like and any downtime or technical problem will be listed in here. In here, there is domain management page and instant domain registering section too, it makes ordering new domain name much easier and faster. We can order addon products and choose an upgrade at anytime.

The backstage is linked to customer service and we can contact technical support via email ticket or live chat. Its easy to view and edit billing information and preference in here. And lastly, we can access to affiliate program and join it to earn money too. Its all integrated into one simple account.

What is Site5 backstage pros and cons?

We see their unique design and usability advantages. It integrated all software, control panel and tools into one and this simplify account management. Above we have highlighted top 7 advantages to use this backstage panel and this is more convenient way to manage a web hosting account.

What is the current software version available?

As of this November 2014, our shared hosting account is using the following server configuration:

  • Dedicated IP Address 174.120.254.154
  • Sendmail /usr/sbin/sendmail
  • PHP version 5.4.31
  • Ruby 1.8.7
  • Rails 3.2.11
  • Python 3.0.1
  • MySQL 5.1
  • SQLite 3.3.6

Your account information:

  • Primary domain site5review.org
  • Domain nameserver: DNS.SITE5.COM
  • Domain nameserver: DNS2.SITE5.COM
  • Username websites
  • Hosting Package Five Dollar Hosting Deal x2 Special
  • Server Name s11-dallas
  • Dedicated IP Address 174.120.254.154

And there is server resource usage and disk space information available in here. It provides both daily and monthly server usage occupied and the server usage limit for your account. For our account, the server limits is set at 450 and we are using less than 200 point. That mean we still have plenty of resources available for use.

Server resource usage

In this shared web hosting plan, our account is set to allow up to 107 GB of real storage space. So far we are using less than 1 GB in real storage and the same goes to the monthly bandwidth usage. There are still plenty of disk space, transfer and domains we can host in here.

  • Disk Space Usage 630.21 MB / 107.42 GB
  • Monthly Bandwidth Transfer 548.65 MB / Unlimited
  • Email Accounts 1 / Unlimited
  • Subdomains 3 / Unlimited
  • Parked Domains 2 / 9,999
  • Addon Domains 1 / 110
  • FTP Accounts 2 / Unlimited
  • All SQL Databases 10 / Unlimited
  • Mailing Lists 0 / Unlimited
next page

Site5 coupon giving 35% discount (use this signup link)

Which is the best Site5 coupon for 2014?

From signup page, we have located three different types of coupons and each offering unique type of discount. Each coupon has its term of use and valid for one kind of plan. For many years it remain the same without changes and this web hosting discount is giving up to 35% in saving. There are promotion codes available for selected season time as well.

Here are top recommendation:

  1. Use “FREEDOMAIN” for one free domain name.
  2. Use “FREETRIAL” for 30 days trial access.
  3. Use “ONEDOLLARVPS1″ on VPS and pays only one dollar.

Above are a few valid coupon codes for various discounts and this include domain name worth around $15 dollars. Throughout these years, they are having only these three coupon codes and there is no forth choice. One is entitle for free domain name, second is free trial access and last one is VPS plan for one dollar.

Site5 coupon for 30-days free trial access.

When signing up for their shared web hosting, we can choose the 24 months term and get a much lower price. And next apply the coupon code and we can get 30-days free trial access to any of these plan. Here are the options available:

  1. Choose 12 months and pay $5.95/month (this is 8% cheaper than regular price).
  2. Choose 24 months and pay $4.95/month (this is another 23% in great discount).
  3. Choose to use coupon “FREETRIAL” and get 30-days free access.

In the signup page, we can choose to get either a 30-days free trial or get a free domain. By choosing the 2-years package, we already getting an initial 23% saving. Next we are getting this 30-days free trial by activated the coupon. And the total amount due is now only $113.85. Here are the hosting terms and payment it require:

  1. Choose 6-monthly term and total is $39.00.
  2. Choose 12-monthly term and total is $71.40.
  3. Choose 24-monthly term and total is $118.30.

FREETRIAL coupon activated

Site5 coupons on VPS hosting signup.

The latest VPS plan is available with 30-days trial access too. And their cloud web hosting that are much expensive are not available with any discount. This mean only their VPS and reseller plans are available with this free trial.

Some time ago, the have another type of promotion and it give 23% or 25% in saving. With 25% discount, its cost $180 dollars less. However these promo code is no longer valid and have expired.

Latest 23% saving

Site5 coupons on reseller hosting signup.

While their shared hosting is now available for one-dollar deal, their reseller plans are available for free. We choose to signup 1-month and should be paying $23.95/month. At the end, we are getting coupon offer and after calculated at checkout we have nothing to pay, or just $0.00 only.

Want to know why and when to choose upgrade to this reseller hosting plan? We have wrote another more specific review article and it is entirely about their reseller hosting plan, find out why this reseller hosting is better.

reseller plan free trial

Site5 coupons on year 2009.

At the beginning of this year, they are having this happy 2009 sales and offering 15% saving off your hosting order. This mean the pro plan now cost only $6.95/month and this promo ends January 20th, 2009. From this year onward, they are start offering unlimited storage, unlimited bandwidth and unlimited domains features.

January 2009 saving

Site5 coupons on year 2008.

Here is Father day sales 2008. The Ubber plan is only $5 dollars. Get this unbeatable plan with 2500 GB storage and 25 TB monthly transfer for only $5/month or just 50% off the regular $9.95/month. This even ended on June 15, 2008 at 11:59 PM.

Father day promo

next page

Site5 website uptime percentage (basic account)

Site5 uptime for our website.

For the pass 7 years, our website availability percentage is checked here. On event of downtime of problem, it will be recorded. A top web host like this should deliver excellent uptime rating, and that is what we expecting from them too. Luckily we’ve an account with them and our website is being monitored. The website uptime is gathered and process automatically, and the average website availability is above 99.8% (online) in actual world. In other hand, the average website downtime is less than 0.2% (offline). From this statistic, we know this rating is actually very good and isn’t sucks.

Site5 uptime availability

Site5 uptime rating since year 2007.

In every year, there is total checking, outages, failed checks and availability percentage. The higher the percentage means a better website availability. And when asked for the best year, we have year 2011 and 2012, each with 99.87% and 99.82% respectively.

If you are more interested with the yearly and monthly statistic, the following 2012 website availability statistic should be more suitable for you. In this year alone, most of the months are above 99.9%. And there is one major downtime with this account at August 2012 that causes the most failure.

Yearly uptime 2012

Site5 uptime rating and comparison.

In overall, our hosted WordPress blog is performing as good as other cPanel web hosts for example we have Bluehost uptime at 99.75% and Hostmonster uptime at 99.8%. If you’re asking for much better reliability and hope for 99.9% for your business website, they are currently has cloud hosting and dedicated server plan that offers the best website uptime.

Site5 uptime and downtime fixes.

What to do when your website is down? When this happened, its time to reach out support team and get some help. Here is our live chat session with them:

Whitney C.
Hello James. Please wait while we connect you to an operator.

Hello, James. How can I help you?

James:
website is all down

Whitney C.
Let me look into this. Just a moment.

Okay, we are having multiple server outages. They have posted a thread about it here: http://forums.site5.…e5.com/showthread.php?p=219591 And updates will be there also.

I’m sorry that this is happening. Server Health team is already hard at work on this.

James
ok thanks

You rated our customer service as good.

Whitney C.
Again, updates will be posted there and please let us know if you’re concerned with any of these issues. We believe this should be up soon.

Chat session closed

next page

Site5 speed test on basic plan (customer site)

From our test, the website speed test result is remarkable. And with our own shared hosting account, we have conducted various server speed test and verifying their site performance. We want to know how fast is this plan and either it meet user expectation or not. Most business hosting users are concern of website loading speed or delay and they always ask for the faster hosting service for their company website.

Site5 Speed Test

Our hosted website is currently running from their hosting plan and this is what we going to use for test. This website is with total page size of 221 kilobytes is loading time only takes 0.576 second only. Our average transfer rate of over 300KB/sec. This clearly shown their shared server speed is faster compare to iPage speed, Powweb speed and Ipower speed at around 110 to 130 kilobytes per second respectively.

Why their shared hosting is faster and having the shortest delay time? Here are the few point to consider. They are not overselling their service and server, this mean less user per server. They use the most advanced network infrastructure and this mean highest transfer speed.

Another great way to check your website speed is to allow your website visitors to tell you about it. Invite your friends to visit your website by using their computer, ask the to time it and let you know on the result. If they are getting the near similar result of what you get, that is a good sign. If they are appearing much slower, there are things went wrong and need for a look. There might be some compatibility issue or certain features not available in their computer that caused that. Check on the cause of problem and identify the issue that make your website slow. Fixed it after knowing that, and retest your website once again.

next page

Add temporary and permanent URL redirect

When you are moving a webpage from one URL to another, its advised to create redirection for this and prevent future error 404 page. When your webpage has been removed or changed in address, the old location will no longer be valid and hence its crucial to forward all users to the new address automatically.

Which type of URL redirection to use?

The latest trend in SEO is choose to use the 302 temporary redirect. Some webmaster who knows in details will choose to use 301 permanent redirect when appropriate. We will provide some info on this with the following scenario.

  1. If your website is penalized by Google and you are moving to new address, in this case you are advised to use 302 temporary redirect. The PageRank and toxic links to your website will not be passed to your new address. This is the safest method and recommended for website SEO use.
  2. If your internal page is deleted and you want to direct user to a new page, then use the 301 redirect only.
  3. If you want to manage all 404 error pages, then choose to setup the 404 redirection to website homepage for example.

How to create URL redirection in Site5 hosting?

Login to your Backstage control panel and go to website tools. In here choose URL redirection and provide the following:

  • Choose the redirection type, either 301 or 302.
  • Choose the originating URL.
  • Choose the new destination URL.
  • Choose to redirect with or without WWW extension.
  • Tick wild card redirect if you want to apply the same rule to all sub-directory.

Checking the Wild Card Redirect box will redirect all files within a directory to the same filename in the redirected directory. You cannot use a Wild Card Redirect to redirect your main domain to a different directory on your site.

At the bottom section, you will be able to view and manage all existing redirects. Make changes to previous redirects or delete any unwanted rules.

next page

10 best paying pay-per-click advertising network

PPC ad networks are the newfangled digital style of increasing online traffic to your website. PPC which stands from pay per click is also known as cost per click is an internet advertising model in which the advertisers will pay the publishers for every time their adverts are clicked on by online viewers.

The PPC ads display will display the advert made by the advertisers online and will use certain keywords will help for this ad to be easily sited online via a search engine. There are a variety of online networking systems that greatly support the PPC adverts made by advertisers and they each offer clients a wide platform of making a major outreach to the global populace.

10 best paying PPC advertising network are:

1. Google Adsense

The Google Adsense is rated in the charts a stop PPC ad network as it is widely used around the world by both the advertisers and the online viewers who turn into potential clients. Perhaps this is mainly due to the fact that Google search is very popular in the digital world than most search engines. With Google Adsense the feature are simply the best as they are always updated enhancing the quality of image appeal to the online audience as well as entail clarified yet appealing information about the advert and its purpose. In order to get approval with Google Adsense you do need to join the content and continually create very unique content that is of high quality and ensures the ability to enhance clicks on the advert. The main advantage of using Google Adsense is that it is viewed by majority online populace and is bound to circulate your advert information within Google circles.

2. BidVertiser

BidVertiser was initially launched on the digital platform in 2004 and is now counting a decade of vast success. It is reported to have a very trendy appeal to advertisers and website owners as it does not place a very high standard on the quality of information they approve for one to join the community. The company focuses on the quality of creating appealing adverts rather than scaling your approval from the view of your website which may have poor web design and navigation. Bid Vertiser is well known for paying their publishers and the main advantage articulated to this network system is that you will most definitely have your own opportunity to expand your web traffic every day.

3. Chikita

Chikita is one great Ad network that you can utilize to guarantee web traffic results in the millions. The Chikita networks are widespread and have a global widespread view. It does take some time to get approval from chikita however you will only need one of your websites to be approved in order to gain access of usage. The main advantage with using Chikita is that you can use this network alongside with other ad networks available online. It will not restrict you to only using one service or the other but will offer you a multiple chance of increasing your website traffic gradually and in the shortest amount of time possible.

4. MediaNet

It was initially founded by both Yahoo and Bing as an ad network that would manage to circulate all adverts placed on this network. Yahoo is one of the most used systems by online users and thus it was bound to grasp a good number of clients to potentially use it and with the popularity of Bing continually rising both companies were clearly headed in the right direction to stir up their own success. It is equipped with online tools that track your ad performances. The advantage of using the media net ad networking site is that you will definitely get web traffic from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.

5. Infolinks

The infolinks has also become on the most popular ad network links that is visited by majority online populace. Its features do include providing advertisers with unlimited space for adverts as they do not have a standardized banner for ads.
The Advantage of using infolink is that the approval is usually done fast enough and thus you can have your advert up and running for majority view in the shortest amount of time possible.

6. Clicksor

The Clicksor ad networking site is one of the most appealing ad site in the world. They offer the opportunity to make ads in different sizes in order to make each advert to look very unique and different from other adverts. The advantage of using this network site for ads is that you will be sure to stand out from the crowd and they only approve high quality ads that will produce definite results of web traffic.

7. Vibrant Media

This network site is viewed by more half a million online user every month and they have a variety of topics for adverts as well as protect the minority populace from adult ads. They do not allow gambling, drugs, profanity, hate speeches and influence of violence to be placed on their site. The advantage is that you can opt to join this site with a premium advertisers membership if you are already using any other ad network.

8. Kontera

Is a very quick and easy site to place ads the only rule is to not place adult content that is against their rules. They are plugged in with word press, blogger and drupal and you can vastly enhance your web traffic as a result of this.

9. Exit Junction

This site focuses on not just having online viewers click on your ad but also on making sure that your company makes a sale. They do this by sponsoring the results of other viewers and thus give a review of these viewers well enough to establish a firm ground for generating both traffic and sales. Your advantage with this site is that you will have a great boost in your sales and web traffic fame.

10. CPX Interactive

It is very easy to sign up into this site and it is reported to have a way of creating great impression every month for its advertisers. The main advantage is that you can create your own unique advert without having it copied or look like other ads as they are also checked for familiarity to establish authenticity.

next page

Site5 e-commerce review – which shopping cart to choose?

If you are thinking about establishing an e-commerce site that will allow you to sell products online, one of the most important things to consider is the type of e-commerce software you will use. There are various e-commerce shopping carts available and each one offers unique features.

Some of the most popular options include:

  1. Zen cart
    This is a free e-commerce shopping cart that allows you to customize its source code to suit your needs. Zen Cart is a powerful solution that you can download without requiring a license. It is easy install and is ideal if you are not technology savvy. You can use it with any hosting service. It offers several features and you can take advantage of one of its many custom integration and plugins. Zen Cart offers all the basic features that you require to set up an e-commerce store. It comes with an in-built capacity that allows you to accept PayPay, FirstData, and Authorize.net payments. This is open source software and this means there is no formal customer service or technical support but you can take advantage of one of the many forums available to troubleshoot the software. This is not user-friendly software and if you may have to spend a lot of time trying to learn its interface. It also lacks SEO abilities and this is a significant drawback. Zen Cart does not have a variety of add-ons for mobile device use and this means that it is not responsive. You may also have difficulties with upgrades when you use this software.
  2. OsCommerce
    This is open source e-commerce software. OsCommerce is free but if you lack programming skills, you will have to hire a programmer to build your online store. It is self-hosted software and you have to pay to host your store. When you download the software you get a bare slate. But it offers over 7,000 add-ons that you can use to add as many features as your want. Some of the add-ons include shipping modules, payment, and reporting. It supports PayPal and SagePay payment processors. One of its main drawbacks is its design because it lacks templates. This means that you need to hire a web design specialist to customize your site. In addition, this software is not secure and has been hacked several times. It also offers weak SEO and is quite complex.
  3. Magento
    This is one of the most popular e-commerce shopping carts. Magento is free software that you can easily download. But if you lack programming skills, it will be necessary to hire a developer. You also need to think about a domain name, host, payment processor, and security if you decide to use this software. Most users find it difficult to navigate this software and this is why it is advisable to use an experienced developer. It is self-hosted and you will have to identify an online-based host for your shop. This software offers all the features that you need for an online store. It also has SEO features that include URL rewrites, meta tags, and sitemaps. Magento offers a variety of marketing tools such as product bundles and newsletters. You also get inventory tools. You can use various payment gateways such as 2Checkout, Authorize.ent, and PayPal. This software requires some coding experience and there is no customer support. It is also slow and this can affect your business.
  4. ShopSite
    This e-commerce software is charges a fee after a trial period. ShopSite offers various packages to suit your needs. It is web-hosted and this means that you will have to sign up to one of its hosting affiliates. The best aspect about this software is that it is easy to use. ShopSite has a software wizard to guide you as you build your site. It offers several features depending on the package you choose. It is also customized for mobile use. Some of the add-ons and integrations you can use include Orange Soda, Google Analytics, Constant Contact, and Social Commerce. It is compatible with Amazon Payments, Google Wallet, PayPal, and Authorize.net. The drawbacks include the use of third party hosting and old templates.
  5. Agora cart
    Agora cart is available for free but you can also pay for a superior version. The open source offers all the basic components that you require to establish your online store. It offers a variety of features including language files, HTML, SEO friendly URLs and adjustable layouts. This software provides impressive security and its upgrades are easy to use. It supports over 10 payment options.

This is a great place to host your e-commerce website and they even provide as many free shopping carts as possible. With our website hosted with them, we are reviewing their e-commerce features and even testing the cart installation too.

next page